Elizabeth R. Raphael Founder’s Prize

In 1997, in celebration of the 25th anniversary of Contemporary Craft, a $5,000 prize for excellence in the field of contemporary craft was established. The biennial award is given in conjunction with a catalogue, juried exhibition in the gallery, and the acquisition of the winning piece for our permanent collection. This opportunity is funded by the daughters of Elizabeth R. Raphael, the founder of Contemporary Craft and a nationally known figure in the contemporary art scene for many decades.

The 2017 Elizabeth R. Raphael Founder’s Prize competition is open to all artists working in found materials. Emerging artists are especially encouraged to apply.  The deadline is June 9, 2017.

Click here to view the prospectus.

Click here to apply online.


Meet the Raphael Prize Winners:

Linda Swanson

Transformation 9: Contemporary Works in Ceramics

Meghan Patrice Riley

Transformation 8: Contemporary Works in Small Metals


Christian Burchard

Transformation 7: Contemporary Works in Wood

Mark Zirpel

Transformation 6: Contemporary Works in Glass

Jim Rose

Transformation 5: Contemporary Works in Found Materials

SunKoo Yuh

Transformation 4: Contemporary Works in Ceramics

Suzan Rezac

Transformation 3: Contemporary Works in Small Metals

David Sengel

Transformation 2: Contemporary Works in Wood

Sibylle Peretti

Transformation 1: Contemporary Works in Glass